Oahu, Hawaii

1936939_1153149506996_2527053_n

I jumped off the plane eager to find out what this new adventure on the island of Oahu had in store for me. This was where I was going to spend the next 2 weeks of my life and I was determined to make the most out of the time I had. 1924116_1141860344774_6760461_n

1924116_1141855464652_7892504_n

1936939_1153149426994_4956869_n

Oahu had an abundance of activities to do, from surfing, to snorkiling, body surfing, tours of the 1936939_1153149546997_1247023_nislands, and of course, plenty of places to swim and admire sea life. One thing I will say about this island, is that it is very touristy. Beaches are crowded, especially the Waikiki beach and there are lines for just about anything and everything. We also decided to go there in August, for the same reasons many other people were there in that time frame, no school. Don’t let that discourage you from making a trip, it really was an experience of a life time.

IMG_7096

I spent most of my time on the Waikiki beach, where I did my fair share of body boarding, snorkeling, seeing wild life and getting my fill of vitamin D… and burning. There was a day that we decided to drive around the whole island and it was absolutely breathtaking. The water was beautiful,  clear in some places, and the scenic views of the mountains leave you in awww.

We took another day of our trip to see some wildlife upclose, not so easily seen at the beaches.  We went and swam with dolphins. If you have ever wondered what a dolphin feels like, it feels like a smooth rubber, almost like a rubber duck your kids play with in the bath. The dolphins were very friendly and seemed to enjoy the attention. They splashed and jumped out of the water puttin1936939_1153154547122_688667_ng on a remarkable show for us. That was a great experience and one that I won’t forget.

One of my favorite experiences was Turtle beach. “Honu” is the Hawaiian name for turtle, and this beach lived up to its name. You can find them sunbathing on the beach  or swimming 1936939_1153151147037_6763259_nnear you in water. Not only do these big green turtles snap at you if you try to touch them, they are prIMG_7094otected under the federal endangered species act and simply touching them, is a 10,000 dollar fine. So do yourself and the animals a favor and just admire them from a distance.

As a kid I remember watching Dog the Bounty hunter on tv with my dad, it was one of my favorite shows growing up. I was excited to find out that they had a bail bounds on this island as well as the big island . I actually got to go see the bail bonds place of Dog and his family. Although I was highly disappointed that they were not there at theIMG_7092 time we were. Such as life. We did wander into the souvenir shop and got ourselves some Dog gear. I couldnt resist.

Tips for your trip to Hawaii:

1. Even if you’re someone like myself who doesn’t burn, here you will burn. I made the mistake of thinking I didn’t need sunscreen. Just put the sunscreen on.

2. You can book some activities online before you arrive, this will reduce time spent standing in lines. Tripadvisor.com is a good website.

3. Everything in Hawaii is very expensive, so make sure you bring enough spending money, it will go fast.

4. Do some research of the best times of the year to go. Look up the beaches with the most tourists and avoid them if you can.

5. Have fun and if there is something you really want to do or see, don’t hesitate. You never know if you will get another chance.

I will definitely be back to Hawaii and experience another beautiful island, but for now, I am getting ready for my next adventure to Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. August can’t come soon enough.

