Lost

IMG_6603So we were actually supposed to be hiking to the Vance Creek Bridge, however, the roads were flooded with water, welcome to Washington. We made it through most of the water but ended up at a spot the car  would get stuck and I would most likely drowned, because I can’t swim (yes, really). Now, that doesn’t stop me from pretending I can swim, but that’s another story for another day..  Don’t drink and swim.

Anyways, so we decided to take the logging roads and try and go up and around the flooded roads, didn’t go as planned. We called my friends neighbor, who knows the logging roads up there like the back of his hand to get directions to get around. Not only were we trying to follow horrible directions, directions like “You will drive under power lines” or “turn right on Eels road, but there is no Eels road sign, because I stole it” but the roads were horrible, filled with giant pot holes, luckily we didn’t take my car. (selfish I know)

We pulled over on the side of the logging roads, after driving for what seemed like hours, and got out of the car. I happened to see out of the corner of my eye what looked to be like a little trail that was a bit over grown. Me being the easily excited person I am, took off running through this trail yelling at my friend to “hurry up”, I came around a corner and came screeching to a halt, thank gosh because we were right on the cliffs edge. But damn, I had this awesome view of the valley below. It was amazing.

Now, I can’t tell you where I was because I really have no clue, but that’s the adventure. We never did get to the Vance Creek Bridge because we came out right were we had to originally turn around at because the water was to deep. This will be next weekends goal, if the weather will show me a little bit of grace.

“If you wish to be a warrior prepare to get broken, if you wish to be an explorer prepare to get lost and if you wish to be a lover prepare to be both” – Daniel Saint

 

Leave a Reply

